You had one job….

Doctors. Im talking to you. More specifically, those in the mental health profession. 


Sure, your job isn’t easy. I get it. You worry about “getting it wrong”. Whatever the “it” is, can screw you over if you mess up.  (That’s why you get paid the “big bucks”). 

Here’s the thing….while I’m sure you’re more than aware that the majority of us turn to webmd in hopes of curing whatever “it” is sans an office visit-it can only take us so far. 

Accepting defeat means forking out money for an office visit because of the pharmaceutical wall that our semi-completed community college degrees simply can’t penetrate. We need you. And you know this. 

You hold all the power in that half inch pad of paper.  

While we spend hours scouring pages and pages of different ailments related to what we suspect is causing us discord, you are tasked with pinpointing our problems in a matter of minutes. Minutes.

I don’t know about you, but I often see different doctors. You see, I go to a large practice. Often times, I’m paired with a doctor I’ve never met before because of scheduling convenience. 

Typically, I’m asked a couple questions-many of them unrelated to what the point of the visit is, and then ultimately receive a watered down diagnosis. 

When I say watered down, I mean the doctors are covering their asses(for lack of a better term). 

Most of the time (during my 5 minute doctors visit) I forget half of the stuff I wanted to say. It’s awkward. I’ve never been good at explaining myself. 

I guess my point is…..

We have to stand up for ourselves. No one knows YOU better than you do. If something doesn’t seem right, or if you don’t agree with what your doctor is saying about you- get a second opinion!

I felt compelled to write this post because of my rollercoaster I’ve been on with my ADHD diagnosis since the beginning of this year. It’s gone from ADHD, to anxiety/depression, to social anxiety, to generalized anxiety, and finally back to ADHD once again. 

It’s exhausting. 

What I’ve learned through all of this, is that you have to be your own advocate. You might not have a medical degree or even know how to change a bandage, but you do know yourself better than anyone else. 

YOU are the only one who knows how you feel, think, see etc. 

If you suspect something is off, don’t hesitate. And if the doctor brushes you off, find one that won’t. 

Keep fighting. 

2 thoughts on “You had one job….

Leave a Reply

