“Don’t worry, there’s no snakes.” -a bed time poem

Shut-up brain, go to bed.

No more replays on what I said.

The lights are out,

My eyes are closed.

Oh man! Wait. Did I remember the clothes??

Crap. I was supposed to wash L’s favorite

dress .

Will anyone notice though, if it’s slightly a

mess?

Ehh. I’ll do the smell test tomorrow.

If it doesn’t pass, I’ll find something she can borrow.

I feel cozy now, time to sleep.

What the heck was that?!

Oh-pitter patter of little feet…

“Mommy! I have to go potty!”

Oh do you now??

We seemed to have forgotten you went

moments earlier somehow…

Back to bed you go little one.

Getting disturbed when not fully asleep isn’t

fun.

Time to rest my head again.

Waiting for this drawn out battle to end.

My cares are slowly drifting away.

When suddenly I remembered what to say.

Why didn’t I say that earlier? I groaned in

silence.

That would’ve been the best comeback, minus

the violence 🤔

This sleeping game is such a chore

 Hopefully I won’t be awake much more

“Mommy, I’m scared!” She cried holding her

water she was drinking

*sigh* snakes book before bed, what was I

thinking?!

“There are no snakes in this house”

I reassure my child

“They only live way far out in the wild”

“But the wild is right outside! If they get in

here they’ll be able to hide”

I don’t know what to say to that.

“Our dogs eat snakes. It’s a known fact”

“Now go back to bed little one

Snakes don’t like the dark and they hate the

sun”

Sometimes I lie a little when bedtime rolls

around.

It’s only a little, to assure them they’re safe

and sound.

Maybe it’s wrong, maybe it’s ok.

All I know is that I’m done with this day.

Goodnight all.

Get some rest.

Hopefully tonight you’ll sleep the best.

2 thoughts on ““Don’t worry, there’s no snakes.” -a bed time poem

Leave a Reply

