Dear immune system…

  Dear Immune System,
We need to talk. You have served me well for many years. Together, we’ve over come many sicknesses- colds, the flu, even chicken pox. We were a great team. I realize your job is hard. However lately, your performance has been lacking something.

I’m sorry, I don’t mean to upset you (Lord knows I need you!), but I can’t do this alone. I’m not sure what went wrong, but at some point, I feel like you’ve given up. Maybe it was me. I didn’t take enough vitamins. I probably don’t drink enough water. Let’s face it, we both know I don’t get enough sleep! At some point though, I need you to step in. Start putting in your best effort! 

We have an uphill battle ahead of us. Two young children in school, and various activities being around other young runny nosed children who-may not wash their hands after using the bathroom. Kids who, cough but are having too much fun to remember to cover their mouths. They’re just kids for crying out loud-it’s not their fault! They know not what they do. 

The problem, you see, is that I am an innocent bystander in all of this. I wash my hands. I cover my mouth when sneezing and coughing. Lysol is my friend. Yet, lately, I’m constantly a victim in this never ending assault of germs.

Let’s start fresh. Take some time to see what we’re doing wrong here. After all, we’ve been friends all these years. 

Sincerely,

Mom who is sick and tired of being sick and tired. 

2 thoughts on “Dear immune system…

Leave a Reply

