DIY….Do I dare?? (What have I gotten myself into….)

   

 Pinterest. So many boards full of DIY projects, we can all easily do…right?  I have a brain. I’m somewhat creative, and moderately artistic. I’ve pinned thousands of amazing before and afters of refurbished furniture. Why not finally take a stab at it?? 

   
  It all started a few days ago when a used dresser-priced just right, popped up on my local Facebook yard sale page. “Now is my chance to finally have a project! This is going to be awesome. Not only awesome, but the best ever.” I think, bragging to myself. I successfully purchase the priced just right dresser, and bring it home, and place in garage (among our growing pile of junk). I decide to transform priced just right dresser into my 4 year old son’s dream super hero dresser (or as dreamy as a dresser can be at least). 

I start brainstorming with my 4 year old, and we decide to go with DC comics theme-Batman, Superman, Green Lantern, Robin, and Flash. “Ok, Yay! Let’s do this! Wait, do I need to sand this? What kind of paint do we use?? Primer? Ugh.” I start to realize I might be in over my head. I’m a total amateur. It’s too late now, though. Four year old super hero enthusiast is now expecting it since I opened my overly confident mouth. I decide to just wing it. Paint is paint, right? We head to Walmart, and I pick up bottles of acrylic paint, and some brushes.  

 
I get home and unscrew knobs off dresser. “I’ll paint this first.” I say to my little guy. I bet I can paint the logos of each super hero on the knobs.   

  Epic fail. I’m actually embarrassed to show these, but everyone makes mistakes right?? It’s ok, go ahead and laugh. I will not attempt hand painting logos again….

I decide to go back to the knobs later on. Through my research, I’ve learned I must sand dresser. I start sanding. This part sucks and is boring…

Finally, everything is sanded and I wipe down dust off dresser. I realize I do not want to paint this whole thing with tiny paint brushes and matte acrylic paint, so I head out in search of spray paint.  

 
This paint is awesome. Glossy finish-much better than the matte acrylic paint. I pull dressers out one by one and begin spraying. Each drawer will be for a different hero.  

 
I’m starting to get excited again. My hope is restored that I can do this. 

At the moment, drawers and rest of dresser are outside drying. I’m not sure where to go from here but I will post my finished product when I’m done! Suggestions are welcomed!!

9 thoughts on “DIY….Do I dare?? (What have I gotten myself into….)

  1. Congrats on starting your blog! Ive been wanting to start a beaty blog for a while, but im nervous nobody will read it lol…Just a thought, but i google and print out coloring pages for avery all the time…maybe you could print out super hero pages, tape it on the drawer and trace the outline onto the drawer with a pencil and then youll have an outline to paint! Or, get comics from each super hero and use modge podge to adhere them to the drawer….avery wants a super hero themed room when we move and I’ve found some old comics at a used book sale at the library…i plan on modge podging them onto a night stand for him…cant wait to see what you come up with!!! Good luck 🙂

    Like

  2. That’s awesome. I look at DIY furniture rehab all the time but I don’t know if I can handle it! I have a nightstand that needs some TLC so maybe I’ll try that first since I already own it haha. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

