Brain Farts. (aka when you accidentally put the remote in the refrigerator…)

Brain farts. I’m sure you can relate. It’s those moments when you walk around aimlessly holding that roll of paper towels and blank out as to why you are holding them. How about that time you are  headed out the door, keys in hand, when your child says, “Mommy, you forgot to put my pants on!” Oops. I’m not ashamed to say, I’ve had lot’s of those moments. I think the worst, is when this happens in front of an audience…. “My sunglasses! Have you seen them? I must have left them in the store!” Friend is quick to point out, “Your sunglasses, are on top of your head….” Then she asks, “Did you not get enough sleep last night? Are you ok??” Through her laughter.

Let me share my incident of frustration this morning. I take clothes out of washing machine and put them into the dryer. I set the timer. I begin pulling on the timer to try and start the dryer (much like I would do with washing machine). The handle comes off in my hand. “Huh??” I think to myself. I repeat this action, several times, each time getting more and more annoyed. “Awesome, it’s broken. What the heck am I going to wear today?! I needed those jeans…” I leave the laundry room full of frustration and accept defeat. I guess I’m wearing yoga pants today…..I go back to the living room and drink more coffee, followed by doing  a few tasks in the kitchen. I walk back into laundry room to grab something (about an hour after the dryer incident), and as I look over at the dryer it dawns on me. I am an idiot. Seriously. It’s one of those times you question yourself-“Is there something wrong with me?” The lights were on but, nobody was home this morning. *chuckle*  I have been using this dryer for that past 3 years. For some reason, logic was telling me to try and turn on the dryer as I would the washing machine-Instead of turning the START knob. Wow. *Sigh*

You have to laugh at yourself, and realize that you are not the only one. There are many of us out there. We all need to take more naps, and drink more coffee….It’s the only explanation. 

 

Leave a Reply

