Baby steps…

Ahhhhh…..yes. This was me 3 and a half years ago, midway through my last (and most awesome) weight loss journey after having my youngest babe. In this picture I had already lost all baby weight, plus an extra 30lbs. I was on cloud nine. The weight just started falling off. I was eating healthy, and would get on the treadmill and run a mile almost every day, but that was about the extent of exercise I would do. I would go on to lose ANOTHER 10lbs in the three months that followed. I didn’t feel like I was even trying that hard! I got down to my lowest weight ever!! *sigh* I arrogantly thought I had mastered the key to weightloss. What was it exactly?? Oh yes. Eating healthy and exercising. No one has heard that before… *eyeroll* I knew I would easily be able to do it again, but I was sure I would never get to the point where I would need to….smh.

Let’s fast forward 3 years. I’m not sure what went wrong. Let’s just say, here I am again at square one. Starting in January of this year (“January?! No way! me too! “), I made a decision that I would take control of my body again. Should be easy enough right? Right??? Maybe it’s the fact that I’m counting down the days to the big 3-0.  Who knows. Since January, I’ve gotten down about 10 lbs. Sounds good, but I still have a ways to go, and I’m about tired of kale. It is WAY harder than 3 years ago. I’ve always been the “all or nothing” kind of person. I want immediate results. If I don’t see them right away, I want to give up. Waiting sucks. It really sucks. I’m learning. I’m trying. This year, I’m going to do my best to embrace the “baby steps” that I’m taking to get to my goal. It might not be a sprint towards the coveted number on the scale that I got to 3 years ago, but at least I’m moving forward…..(insert another *sigh*)

I’m going to keep rambling on for a minute.  Baby steps keeps echoing in the back of my mind lately. Every time something doesn’t happen in the time frame that I want it to, the anxiety kicks in. It’s like God is trying to tell me to slow down. I feel so rushed with everything in life. Not everything happens on our own timelines. Every time I get frustrated with something,  I hear that whisper in the back of my mind. Baby steps. When it comes to the kids (5 and 4 year old) and their behavior…baby steps. Weight loss…baby steps. Whether I want to go back to school one day and pursue a career….baby steps. Even trying to get that (#$^$%^$%^) Insurance claim to go through for your daughter’s dental work…baby steps. It all starts with those baby steps.

IMG_3462

One thought on “Baby steps…

Leave a Reply

